Motor Vehicle Statues

Car Seat Regulations

For car seats in the state of New Jersey, the child using the car seat must be 7 years and younger and weigh less than 80 lbs. Also, the car seat must be placed in the rear seat of the vehicle if there is one available. An adult safety belt is not permissible. For the first offense, the maximum fine is $47.

 

Seat Belt Regulations

As of May 1, 2000, there is a standard enforcement for the use of seat belts in the state of New Jersey. Everyone must wear their seatbelts. All children from the ages of 7 years and younger and weigh more than 80 lbs must wear seatbelts at all times; otherwise they must be in a car seat. For adults, if you are not wearing your seatbelt, you will be fined $45.

 

Cell Phone Law

It will be unlawful to use a cell phone while operating a motor vehicle on any highway, street or road EXCEPT:

  • When using a hands-free system and while doing so it does not interfere with the operation of the vehicle. It must also not obstruct the deployment of any airbags.
  • A person may use a cell phone while operating a motor vehicle when the operator has reason to fear for their lives and or safety or believe a criminal act may be perpetrated against them or another.
  • To report a fire, motor vehicle accident, serious road hazard, medical emergency, hazardous material emergency or to report a careless, reckless, unsafe or possible drunk driver.
  • FINE: $100.00 – $250.00

 

Violations and Fines

ViolationsFine
Adult Seatbelt Violation: 39:3-76.2f$45.00
Document Violation: Not in Possession
Drivers License
Registration
Insurance Card
$176.00
Vehicle Inspection Violations: 39:8-1 & 39:8-4$126.00
Twp Ordinance Parking Violations T.O.21:11-1.2 $23.00
Wipers on / Headlamps Required: 39:3-47a$47.00
Handicapped Parking Violation: 39:4-138.O
in addition, the vehicle may be towed.
$250.00

All other violations that were $78.00 are now $81.00

Driving While Under the Influence of Liquor or Drugs

Effective: January 1, 2004

The legal limit has been changed from .10% BAC to .08% BAC.

There also have been changes in the fines and length of suspensions.

OffenseFines and Suspensions
.08%-.09% BACFine: $250 - $400
Suspension: 3 months
IDRC:12-48 hours
.10%-.15% BACFine: $300 - $500
Suspension: 7 months – 1 year
IDRC: 12-48 hours
16% & HigherFine: $400-$600
Suspension: 9 months – 1 year
IDRC: 12-48 hours

 All the above are for 1st offense only. 2nd and subsequent offenses will have enhanced penalties.

2nd OffenseFine: $500 - $1,000
Suspension: 2 years
Community Service: 30 days
Ignition Interlock Installed
3rd & Subsequent OffenseFine: $1,000
Suspension: 10 years
Jail: Up to 180 days
No Community Service Option
Ignition Interlock Installed

Additional penalties imposed by law for each conviction of 39:4-50 on 1st, 2nd, 3rd or higher

$200.00Drunk Driving Enforcement Fund
$50.00Victim Crime Compensation Board
$75.00Safe Neighborhood Fund

Fines and Penalties listed on this web page DO NOT include additional court costs, lab fees or other penalties imposed by law.

To determine your total fine please call the municipal court for the town where you received a traffic ticket or were arrested. A court clerk will advise you of your total fine.

The municipal court office is closed on all legal holidays. After hours, holidays or on weekends DO NOT phone the police department with questions concerning fines and penalties.

Pennsville Municipal Court
Monday thru Friday 9am – 4pm
(856) 678-3089 ext 117, 118 or 119

Please remember to “Buckle Up” & “Drive Safe & Sober”

 

New Jersey Points System

New Jersey Turnpike, Garden State Parkway, and Atlantic City Expressway


NJSA

Offense

Points

27:23-29

Moving
Against Traffic

2

27:23-29

Improper Passing

4

27:23-29

Unlawful Use of Median Strip

2

All Roads and Highways


39:3-20

Operating constructor
vehicle in excess of 45 mph

3

39:4-14.3

Operating motorized bicycle
on a restricted highway

2

39:4-14.3d

More than one person on a
motorized bicycle

2

39:4-35

Failure to yield to
pedestrian in crosswalk

2

39:4-36

Failure to yield to
pedestrian in crosswalk; passing a vehicle yielding to pedestrian in
crosswalk

2


39:4- 41

Driving through safety zone

2

39:4-52

Racing on highway

5

39:4-55

Improper action or omission on grades and curves

2

39:4-57

Failure to observe direction of officer

2

39:4-66

Failure to stop vehicle
before crossing sidewalk

2

39:4-66.1

Failure to yield to
pedestrians or vehicles while entering or leaving highway

2

39:4-66.2

Driving on public or private property to avoid a traffic sign or signal

2

39:4-71

Operating a motor vehicle on a sidewalk

2

39:4-80

Failure to obey direction of officer

2

39:4-81

Failure to observe traffic signals

2

39:4-82

Failure to keep right

2

39:4-82.1

Improper operating of vehicle on divided highway or divider

2

39:4-83

Failure to keep right at
intersection

2

39:4-84

Failure to pass to right of vehicle proceeding in opposite direction

5

39:4-85

Improper passing on right or off roadway

4

39:4-85.1

Wrong way on a one-way street

2

39:4-86

Improper passing in no passing zone

4

39:4-87

Failure to yield to overtaking vehicle

2

39:4-88

Failure to observe traffic lanes

2

39:4-89

Tailgating

5

39:4-90

Failure to yield at
intersection

2

39:4-90.1

Failure to use proper entrances to limited access highways

2

39:4-91-92

Failure to yield to emergency vehicles

2

39:4-96

Reckless driving

5

39:4-97

Careless driving

2


39:4-97a

Destruction of agricultural or recreational property

2

39:4-97.1

Slow speed blocking traffic

2

39:4-97.2

Driving in an unsafe manner (points only assessed for the third or
subsequent violation(s) within a five-year period.)

4

39:4-98

Exceeding maximum speed 1-14
mph over limit

2

39:4-99

Exceeding maximum speed 15-29 mph over limit

4
"
Exceeding maximum speed 30 mph or more over limit

5

39:4-105

Failure to stop for traffic light

2

39:4-115

Improper turn at traffic
light

3

39:4-119

Failure to stop at flashing red signal

2

39:4-122

Failure to stop for police whistle

2

39:4-123

Improper right or left turn

3

39:4-124

Improper turn from approved turning course

3

39:4-125

Improper U-turn

3

39:4-126

Failure to give proper signal

2

39:4-127

Improper backing or turning in street

2

39:4-127.1

Improper crossing of railroad grade crossing

2

39:4-127.2

Improper crossing of bridge

2

39:4-128

Improper crossing of railroad grade crossing by certain vehicles

2

39:4-128.1

Improper passing of school bus

5

39:4-128.4

Improper passing of frozen
dessert truck
"

39:4-129

Leaving the scene of an accident - No personal injury

2
"
Personal injury

8

39:4-144

Failure to observe stop or yield signs

2

39:5C-1

Racing on highway

5

39:5D-4

Moving violation out of
state

2

×

Hydrant Flushing to begin October 2, 2017 for approximately 5 weeks Click here for more Information